Where in the world are YOU?

background castleDarlings,

You are absolutely right.  I have neglected my posts.  However, I completed my goal.

I started this with writing my book, You’re Not Dead, Yet.  Going full-speed I get through the first draft of the first eight chapters.  In February, I got a wild hair.

During a trip to the International Congress on Vegetarian Nutrition in Loma Linda, CA, I got an idea of a kids video about Fruit.  During the conference I wrote a draft outline.  I showed it to The Plant-Based Dietitian, Julieanna Hever, Dr. Milton Mills and others.  They tweaked the outline.  I started working on it on the plane home.

It was on that ride home I realized I had a presentation coming up in a few months for LaDiva Fruit stickernutrition educators.  I had to re-organize.  This would be a perfect group to launch a kids nutrition video.  So, the book took at backseat.

May 1, I launched the DVD with stickers and PowerPoint files that the kids could use to make their own FAB Fruit Festival.  Here’s a infomercial on the finished product.  It was a lot of work.  Creating the fruit clip art, the animation, the sticker, the PowerPoint backgrounds, the webpage, the means to purchase these online, the notes and smoothie recipe for instructors or parents.  Everything had to be created, checked, double checked and still had bugs.

While I was working on it, I had to attend 5 days of premiers for a film shot last spring, put together new nutrition presentations, teach at Main Street Vegan, created the LaDiva Crazy About Cocktails glasses, OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAmaintain my other paid contracts and be a human.  Please do not think I am complaining.  I am complimenting myself.  Because only I know the work that went into it, the time, the detail and the laughs at creating something new that stretched my brain and taught me new skills.  Plus, I got to re-visit my FAV jokes that make you GROAN!

FAB Fruit DVD cover. LUV Carmen Miranda!

FAB Fruit DVD cover. LUV Carmen Miranda!

Is it perfect?  No.  But, I like it.  A producer friend asked me, is it cheesy?  Yes.  Does it have bad jokes?  Yes.  Then, he liked it sight unseen.  Teachers thought it was kid-friendly and gave some great feedback such as what ages they thought it addressed [4-8].  They helped break it into teaching segments.

Looking at a lot of educational DVDs, I saw they were twice as expensive, better graphics, but boring or condescending to kids.  One of my objectives was to have kids think they could make the same or better product.  I want them to play with the clip art.  I want them to feel it is accessible.  Will I accept criticism?  Of course, but am I going to wait for someone’s approval?  No.

So many times we look at ourselves in the marketplace and think, I am just another cog, what is the point?  There are a whole bunch of people who are smarter, write better, have more info, have better press, more financial backing.  On the other hand there are seven billion people on the planet.  The people who need to hear Your take on whatever floats your boat are out there.  Don’t disappoint them because you don’t have the courage to try.

One thought on “Where in the world are YOU?

  1. Me too! Trying to make healthy eating and the science behind it appeal to kids, that is. I have to say it looks like you’re off to a good start. If I were a kid, I’d love to read your stuff 🙂

Any thoughts, Darling?

