Happy New Focus

Get time on your side.

Get time on your side.

Got the list?  Feeling overwhelmed?  Feeling like you can take on the World, but only for about a week?

So many of us want to take ourselves to the next level of health in January.  By health I mean physical, mental, emotional and/or environmental.  We look at the new year as the time to create the FAB life we know we deserve.  Then, in about a week, we are back in the grind and those best intentions get replaced by paying bills, laundry, dinner, painting the kitchen and getting new brakes on your car.

I find that when I think of all that I want to accomplish I get mired in what-to-do-first and a to-do list that is several terrifying pages of overwhelming anxiety and premeditated failure.

How to stay on track?  This year I am only doing one thing – staying focused on the task at hand.  That’s it.  My work week will have one detailed focus point.

My weekends will have one, and only one, thing I have to do around the house.  We all know that we start a weekend with 3 or 4 things to do.  Full of joyous ambition, you gather all you need to knock off Job #1 on your list.  Then, you realize you don’t have the right anchor for that shelving unit or ingredients for that new recipe.  Next, you go to the store about 6 times.  Somewhere on the drives or walks to get that million dollar anchor, the only one that works with your $5 shelving unit, or mid-quest to find a store that sells fresh lemon grass, your frustration level goes through the roof.  Your relaxing weekend is now a crusade for the holy grail of finishing this @$#$^ job in time to get some sleep before Monday.

Get focused.

Get focused.

I’m giving myself the gift of limited goals and days of screw up time. I wrote a SHORT list of stuff I need to get done this year [not including painting the kitchen].  I am taking today to make these things happen for myself.

To get myself on target, I’m getting out the ladder to tape a note stating the dollar amount I want to make on the ceiling above my bed.  Next, comes putting due dates in my online calendar that hooks to my email.  Once I finish this post, the list of tasks to make each of these things happen will be written and attached to the due dates.  Then, I’ll print the first set of tasks and put that on my mirror.

Breaking down a big goal into smaller actions makes the whole thing seem more real.  It also gives a place to start.  And isn’t starting a lot of the problem to begin with?

Yes, this may seems REALLY anal, but you know what it does for me?  Takes the burden of what-do-I-have-to-do-today off my shoulders until 2014.  It gives me a detailed plan of action.  It also allows me time to take off when the tasks are done.  So many times, especially those of us who run our own businesses, never take time off.  We keep looking at the next day’s business.  More than anything, having this written out releases me from taking on anything else.  I am free to put on blinders to everyone around me and my knack for letting them distract me.

What are you waiting for?

What are you waiting for?

Okay, it’s time for you to get started.  Happy New Focus and a Merry Series of Checked Off Lists for the New Year.

Any thoughts, Darling?

