Save the Date! Caring enough to Burn the boats

burning boatTony Robbins says a lot of smart things.  But until you are ready to listen you just can’t hear them.

Today while running and bemoaning my outcast state of not having another income stream so I can quit my job, I finally listened to a phrase I have heard since Sigourney Weaver wore big shoulder pads and made a decision – if you want to take the island, burn the boats.

Leave yourself no way out and you will devise a way to take the island.

When you try, you leave yourself an out.  When you decide, you burn the boats.

When I was young I always had a butane torch ready to burn the boats.  But, when you take on the responsibilities of adulthood it can be hard to find a dry match much less a striker.

On the other hand, I am WAY smarter than a 20 year old.  I describe myself as young enough to do it, and old enough to get away with it.  I am in search of a Zippo.squash stuff 1 close

Another catch phrase akin to setting yourself on fire, is Zig Ziglar’s “If you help enough people get what they want, you will get what you want.”  You have to care enough to throw your ego aside.  Your ego houses your fears.  So, I am going to care enough for as many people as I can to help them get what they want.  My best way to do this is through their food.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI decided on a date and plan of action.  I’m opening up my kitchen and burning the boats.  Will I plant the flag or be burned with it in effigy?  Care enough to stay tuned?

Any thoughts, Darling?

