Red Velvet? Only as dessert

Dawn knows her cupcakes and isn't afraid to show the world

When I told a co-worker about my cupcake blog she asked for her favorite – Velveteen.  There is a recipe for it in Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.

The recipe calls for Chocolate Extract, but I couldn’t find any.  So, I did the next best thing – dark creme de cacao.  Smelled like chocolate, intense flavor.  And really, do you have to follow a recipe?

The frosting was a different type suggested by the authors, Isa and Terry.  It called for super fine sugar.  That WAS at the store.  I thought the frosting was yummy, albeit a little grainy.

In all their red and pink-y perfection

I made a video of Ms. Dawn giving her unbridled opinion.

It appears my deviations didn’t disappoint!

Any thoughts, Darling?

