Egg-ceptional Replacers

Thick & Yummy Eggplant Cutlets with Marinara

Had comments on my YouTube Channel about baking.  I wrote an article years ago about different egg replacers.

The gist of it is that I use flax meal almost exclusively.  I am cheap.  So, I buy flax seeds and I picked up a cheap coffee grinder.  I only use it for flax or spices.

I grind up what I need for a week.  I try and use it daily, not to bake, but for the Omega-3 oils.  About 2 tablespoons daily.  Keep flax meal in an opaque container in the frig.  It lasts for about a week.  Then, the oils can become rancid.

On my BBQ Tempeh Apple Wrap video, I talk about using flax and keeping it fresh.  The breading for the Thick Yummy Eggplant Cutlets uses flax to make part of the crunch.  August’s Perfect Peach Almond Muffins used the flax instead of eggs.

You can also use the product, “Egg Replacer”.  I use that when I want to keep a baked product really white as flax will have little flecks of brown throughout.  It works just fine and is tapioca starch based.

Flax not only binds foods like eggs, but it has no cholesterol and pumps up the fiber.

And them’s the Flax, Ma’am.

Any thoughts, Darling?

